Posted by supervisor

Applying for Unemployment in South Dakota

The unemployment rate in South Dakota is about half of the national rate. Nevertheless, there are many who are out of work and need to apply for benefits. If you want to get started in the process, the place to begin is here. There is a short video that you should watch to get acquainted with what you will need to do.

In addition to filing online, you can also do it over the telephone by callingĀ 605.626.3179 during normal business hours Monday through Friday. Filing online though, is the preferred method of applying for unemployment benefits.

Filing For The First Time?

This free ebook is something any first time filer should print and keep. It is about 27 pages and gives you a comprehensive look into all that is needed for you to successfully apply and get your benefits. If you have questions about the process, the answer to your questions is probably in that book.

These are the things you will need when you file:

  • All your employer’s business names and addresses for the last 18 months
  • Reasons you left each place of employment and the dates of each job
  • The number of hours you worked and the pay rate
  • Your SSN
  • Alien Registration Number (if not a U.S. citizen or national)

How To File An Appeal

If your claim for unemployment gets turned down, you can appeal. Please go here to find out how to start the appeals process. You do not need a lawyer as you can represent yourself but you are allowed to have a lawyer if you so desire.

South Dakota Unemployment Extensions:

New claims can now be made through the end of 2012 (12/29/2012). This does NOT mean that your benefits will last more weeks. Keep an eye on this page for updates on benefit extensions and other important information.


South Dakota Department
of Labor
File Your First Unemployment Claim Online
How To File An Appeal
South Dakota Jobs
SD Works
File for unemployment in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, New England, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming