How To Get Unemployment Insurance Benefits In Texas

Posted by supervisor

Unemployment Benefits in Texas

Important: Before you do anything at all with regards to filing for unemployment in Texas, you should read this comprehensive how-to PDF file that comes complete with screen prints and pictures. Most of your questions you have about the application and payment processes will be found there.

First Time Claim Filers

In order to apply, you need a user ID which you can get here. That Texas Workforce Commission ID will be used for everything having to do with your unemployment benefits. Once you have that ID you can then apply online on this page for your benefits. Nowhere is a phone number available so it looks like you have to apply online.

These are the things you will need:

  • Your last employer’s business name and address
  • The first and last dates (month, day and year) you worked for your last employer
  • The number of hours you worked and the pay rate
  • Information related to your normal wage
  • Alien Registration Number (if not a U.S. citizen or national)

Get Paid By These Methods

Like in most states, you have the option to get paid by direct deposit or by debit card. The direct deposit is best if you have a bank account because your unemployment payment will automatically go into your account each week. Direct depost information can be found here.

If you don’t opt for the direct deposit option, you will automatically be sent a TWC debit card. Please read about your new debit card and what you can do with it here.

Texas State Unemployment Extensions:

To find out more about what to do if you are running out of benefits please visit this page. The very complicated tier system along with eligibility dates make it important for you to read and understand your options.


Texas Unemployment Insurance Benefits
File Your Initial Unemployment Claim Online
Texas TWC Debit Card Info
Work In Texas Jobs
File for unemployment in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, New England, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming