File For Unemployment In Tennessee

Posted by supervisor

2012 Update: Extended benefits for people living in Tennessee will end on April 7th, 2012.

Unemployment Benefits In Tennessee

To get started with unemployment benefits please visit this FAQ page. It tells you how you can figure out if you will be eligible for UI benefits along with a variety of other information you will need.

Once you are ready to apply online, you need to go here to get started. You will need to create a PIN number and you will use that number along with your Social Security number to access the system.

Things you need to know:

When applying for unemployment in Tennessee, you should do it right away after losing your job. Benefits will NOT start from the date of termination but instead from the date you apply. That is, if you are accepted. It can take up to 28 days to find out whether your application for benefits was accepted and you HAVE to file the weekly certifications while you wait for the determination. Failure to do so will result in you not getting your benefits. This page will give you more important details that you need to know.

Tennessee’s appeals process

Like most states, you CAN appeal a benefits determination. To to so you should start here. The best way to appeal a determination is to do it online but you can also do it through the mail or fax. Send your appeals here:

Appeal Tribunal
220 French Landing Drive
Nashville, TN 37243

Fax: 615-741-8933

How will you get paid?

You will NOT receive a check. Your two payment options are direct deposit into a bank account or a debit card. Either of these options requires you to provide truthful information so that your account can be set up. More information can be found on this web page.


Tennessee Unemployment Insurance
Frequently Asked Questions
Eligibility Requirements
How To File An Appeal
TDLWD Job Search
File for unemployment in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, New England, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming