File For Unemployment In Oregon

Posted by supervisor

2012 Update: Oregon’s extended benefits program will end on April 7th, 2012.

How to file for unemployment in Oregon State:

Like most states, you can file for unemployment in Oregon either online or by telephone. Online is the best way and you can start the process by going to this page.

Applying online should take about a half an hour and you will need the information listed below to get started.
If you don’t have a computer or can’t get online, you need to call:

(877) 877-1781 if you live in the Portland metro are
(877) 728-7970 if you live in the southwest part of Oregon
(800) 663-7914 if you live east of the Cascades.

Please note that the state REALLY wants you to apply online because that is easiest for them and they are trying to limit the number of phone calls so they can reduce staff.

Before you apply online you need:

  • Your SSN
  • Details of work history for the last 18 months which include the dates of employment, business names of your employers, all addresses and phone numbers.
  • You will need your salary and total income you were paid at each job.
  • Not a US citizen? Then you will need your Alien Registration Number and documentation.
  • A phone number where you can be reached during business hours

You can appeal all decisions

If you get rejected for Oregon unemployment or get your benefits reduced, you CAN appeal. All appeals are done over the telephone and you can learn more about the process by going here. Sometimes people get denied on their first try and accepted on their second attempt so be sure to keep trying.

State of Oregon unemployment extensions:

For information about the different tiers and deadlines for extending your UI coverage, please go here. The good news is that you can apply for an extension well into 2012 but you need to research what your specific situation is.


Oregon Unemployment Insurance (UI)
Oregon Online Claim System
Oregon UI Extensions Info.
Oregon Job Listings
File for unemployment in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, New England, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming