New York Unemployment

Posted by supervisor

Filing for unemployment benefits in New York State:

The main web page for New York unemployment information can be found here. There is a one week waiting period that is unpaid for everyone who hopes to get benefits. This is why you should file your claim right away after losing your job and there are two ways to do this:

  • Your first choice would be to file for unemployment benefits online by going here
  • It is also possible to file over the telephone by calling this toll free number: 1-888-209-8124

What information is needed to file your initial claim?

Your first New York state unemployment claim will require you to have the following information available. This is standard information that almost all states require.

  • A Social Security Number (SSN)
  • Your name, mailing address with zip code
  • A driver’s license or motor vehicle ID card number if you drive
  • A phone number where you can be reached during business hours
  • The mailing address and phone numbers of all companies you have worked for in the last 18 months
  • The Employer Registration number or Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) of your most recent employer (FEIN is on your W-2 forms)
  • Federal employees must have copies of forms SF8 and SF50
  • Military members must have their most recent separation form (DD 214)

Did your claim get rejected? Here is how to file an appeal:

Not everyone who files for unemployment gets accepted. If you are one of the unfortunate ones you can file an appeal and try to get the decision reversed. To find out what you need to get your appeal started, please visit this page for all the information.

New York State Unemployment Extension Options:

There are many tiers of eligibility and the best way to find out where you stand is by going here. You may be able to claim extension benefits as late as 3/4/2012


New York Unemployment Benefits Online
How To File An Appeal
New York UI Extended Benefits
New York State Job Bank



File for unemployment in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, New England, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming