New Jersey Unemployment

Posted by supervisor

New Jersey unemployment claims:

Anyone needing to file for unemployment in the state of New Jersey should make sure to apply as soon as they lose their job. Benefits will not begin until you do and you will not be paid retroactively for the days you missed.

You need these things to file your claim

Before you file a New Jersey State unemployment claim, you should go through this checklist to make sure you have all of these things:
  • A Social Security number (SSN)
  • People who are not U.S. citizens need to have their Alien Registration Number and the expiration date of their work authorization
  • Your driver’s license number or a state ID number
  • Names and addresses of all your employers in the last 18 months. You should also have the dates you were employed at each job and what your wages were
  • Bank information if you want to get paid by direct deposit

Appeal process information

Not everyone gets their unemployment claims accepted and if this happens to you, an appeal is the best course of action. In order to dispute the decision, you need to mail or fax an appeal letter to:New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Appeal Tribunal
PO Box 907
Trenton, NJ 08625-0907
FAX No.: (609) 292-2438
You can also get more information about exactly what you need to do for a New Jersey benefits claim appeal here.

New Jersey state unemployment compensation extensions:

Are you confused about whether you will qualify for any benefit extensions? You are not alone! Please go here to read more about the different tiers of benefits and how to figure out what is happening in the ever changing world of unemployment benefit extensions.


New Jesey Unemployment Insurance
Frequently Asked Questions
Extension of Benefits
Unemployment Benefits Appeal Information
Job / Career Information
File for unemployment in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, New England, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming