Massachusetts Unemployment

Posted by supervisor

2012 Update: Massachusetts extended benefits will end on April 7th, 2012.

Claiming unemployment benefits in Massachusetts:

Unfortunately, Massachusetts is one of the only states in the country where you CANNOT file for unemployment online. You can only make your initial claim by:

Information needed for your initial unemployment claim:

No matter whether you file for Massachusetts state unemployment by telephone or in person, you will need the information listed below:
  • Your Social Security Number (SSN)
  • Your official name, mailing address, zip code and PO Box if you use one
  • Your telephone number
  • Your birth date
  • Your State driver’s license, Photo ID card, or your Alien Registration Information if not a US citizen
  • Your last employer’s name, payroll address, telephone number, employment dates, and separation reason
  • The names, addresses, and dates of employment for ALL employers in the past 15 months
  • The reason you were laid off or had your hours cut
  • Your last day of employment

Get denied? You can appeal the decision

If you get bad news in the form of a denial, you can appeal as long as you do it within 10 days of the mailing date of the decision. Please read instructions for the appeals process here – Massachusetts appeals. If you miss the 10 day deadline you can appeal that and have a hearing if you get your request in within 30 days.

Extended unemployment benefits in Massachusetts

The maximum number of extended benefits weeks has now been reduced from 20 down to 13. You can learn more at this page and in addition there is a lot of valuable information here


Massachusetts Unemployment Insurance
File an Online Claim in Massachusetts
 You can’t at this time
Unemployment Insurance FAQs  FAQ’s
Massachusetts Extended Unemployment Benefit Information
 Extended benefits
How to Make an Appeal in Massachusetts State
Massachusetts JobQuest Job Search


File for unemployment in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, New England, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming