Louisiana Unemployment

Posted by supervisor

Applying for unemployment benefits

Ideally you should apply for a Louisiana unemployment benefits right away after you get laid off or have your hours cut. Because benefit claims are not retroactive, you will not be paid for any time period prior to the date when you file a claim.

How to file a claim in Louisiana state:

In Louisiana you must file for unemployment benefits online for your initial claim. After that, you can use the Easy Call System to call in your weekly claim.

  • To file your first claim for benefits online go to the following web page: Louisiana Workforce Commission
  • Weekly Louisiana unemployment benefit claims can be filed by calling 1-866-783-5567.

This information is required to apply for unemployment benefits:

The information below is needed to file a claim for unemployment benefits in Louisiana state. Please have this information when you begin the application filing process. If you do not have all the necessary information you may not be able to complete your initial claim.

  • Social Security #
  • Union information if applicable
  • Alien registration number if you are not a US citizen
  • Information on all employers you worked for during the 18 months prior to filing your claim, including: name, period of employment, wages earned and how you were paid.

Once you file your claim, a work registration account will be opened automatically to aid you in finding a new job.

If your unemployment claim gets rejected:

You can appeal if your claim for unemployment gets turned down. Please see this page (appeals FAQ’s) or call 1-866-783-5567 for more information.


Louisiana State Workforce Commission
Louisiana unemployment benefits
Unemployment Forms & Publications  https://laors.laworks.net/laclaims/website/
Frequently Asked Unemployment Benefits Questions
Claim Appeal Information / Appeal FAQs  http://www.laworks.net/FAQs/FAQ_UI_ClaimantAppeals.asp
File for unemployment in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, New England, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming