Kentucky Unemployment

Posted by supervisor

2012 Update: The last day for extended benefits in Kentucky will be April 7th, 2012.

How to file for unemployment in Kentucky:

If you need to file for unemployment in Kentucky, it is smart if you apply right away after losing your job or having your hours cut. Benefits will only be paid to you once you file and they will not be paid for weeks that you were out of work but did not file.
  • Filing online is the quickest way to apply to get benefits: Unemployment Insurance Claim System
  • If you are unable to use the Internet, you can file over the phone at 502-875-0442.

Information needed to file a claim:

When you file for the first time you will need the following information: To help speed up the process, have will want to have the following information on hand:
  • Your Social Security number (SSN)
  • Your mailing address
  • Your driver’s license number or a state ID number
  • Names and addresses of all employers for the last 18 months. You will also need the dates of your first and last days of work at those companies

Where to appeal an unemployment claim determination:

If your Kentucky unemployment benefits claim gets rejected, you CAN appeal the decision. To do that you should go to this page and read through it. Make sure you click the “next” button toward the bottom of the page to get to more information that you will need.

Kentucky unemployment extension Information:

Unemployment benefit extensions information can be found here and you can file online or by calling (859) 547-3362. There is conflicting information that says you MUST apply online so that could be the case. There is nothing in place at this time for people living in the state of Kentucky after January 2012 for extended benefits.


State of Kentucky Unemployment Insurance
Frequently Asked Questions
About Unemployment Benefits
Extension of Benefits
File an Appeal
Job / Career Information
File for unemployment in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, New England, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming