Rhode Island Unemployment

Posted by supervisor

2011 Update – The way unemployment benefit rates are calculated has been changed. This means that the amount you will receive weekly has been reduced by up to $100.

File a Rhode Island unemployment claim:

If you should need to file for unemployment in Rhode Island, it would be wise to apply right away after losing your job because your benefits will only start once you file. Anyone who waits to file will not get paid for the days you wait. You can file a claim online here or you can do it over the telephone by calling the UI Call Center – information about numbers to call is here.

What information do you need?

There is a long list of information you may need when you file a Rhode Island State unemployment claim. You can get a the list of all the things you might need on this website page.

What to do if you get turned down for benefits

Not everyone is accepted when they apply for unemployment benefits in Rhode Island. Reasons for denial are numerous but you can always appeal the decision. If you wish to appeal a Rhode Island unemployment claim you should go here to get started.

Rhode Island unemployment extensions:

2011 Update – A new bill has been signed that will reduce the number of weeks you can get state unemployment from 26 to 20 weeks in 2012. You can find out more information about extending benefits in Rhode Island here.


Rhode Island Unemployment Insurance  http://www.dlt.ri.gov/ui/
Frequently Asked Questions
Extended Benefits
Information On How To File An Appeal

Job / Career Information  none
File for unemployment in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, New England, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming