Michigan Unemployment

Posted by supervisor

Filing a Michigan state unemployment claim:

If you need to file for unemployment in Michigan, you should apply as soon as you lose your job because your benefits will only start once you do so. If you wait to file you will not get paid for those days you missed and only for the days after you submit your claim.
  • You can file online by going to the Michigan unemployment insurance agency website.
  • You can also file over the phone by calling 1-866-500-0017.
  • You will need a MARVIN online account number which you can get here.

These things are needed to file your claim

Filing a Michigan unemployment claim requires you have the following information:
  • Your Social Security number (SSN)
  • People who are not U.S. citizens need to have their Alien Registration Number and the expiration date of their work authorization
  • Your driver’s license number or a state ID number
  • Names and addresses of all your employers in the last 18 months. You should also have the dates you were employed at each job and what your wages were
  • Anyone who wants to get paid by direct deposit must have your bank’s account number and routing transit number

What to do if you get turned down for benefits

Just because you file a claim doesn’t mean you will automatically get accepted. It can be denied for a variety of reasons but that doesn’t mean you can’t get a second chance. If your initial claim is denied you may want to appeal the decision. For complete information on how to appeal a Michigan state unemployment claim that is denied please go here.

Michigan unemployment extensions:

2011 Update – A new bill has been signed that will reduce the number of weeks you can get state unemployment from 26 to 20 weeks in 2012.


Michigan State Unemployment Insurance http://www.michigan.gov/uia
Frequently Asked Questions
Extension of Benefits
Information On How To File An Appeal 

Job / Career Information http://www.michigan.gov/jobs
File for unemployment in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, New England, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming