Connecticut Unemployment

Posted by supervisor

Filing a Claim in Connecticut

When it comes to filing for unemployment insurance benefits, you should never delay. The best time to file is the day following your last day of employment and this is because benefits will not begin until after your claim is filed and the payments are not retroactive. You may file a claim in Connecticut state the following two ways:

  • Online: If you choose to file a claim online you must first create an account on the Connecticut Department of Labor (CTDOL) site. To do this you will need to know your social security number (SSN). In addition, if you do not currently have an email address, you will also need to get one. Here are instructions on how to set up a FREE email account and file your initial claim online: Connecticut Department of Labor
  • Via telephone: If you do not have computer access or prefer to file your claim via telephone you have this option.  To locate the correct phone number for your area, please check out the following page: unemployment phone #’s

Appealing a Claim Determination:

Not all benefits claims that are submitted will be accepted. Situations can arise where an unemployment insurance claim is denied. If this occurs to you, it is possible to appeal your unemployment benefits claim via the appeal process.  For information on how to appeal your Connecticut unemployment claim you can go to: Connecticut appeals


Connecticut Department of Labor
Connecticut Unemployment Benefits Info
How to file a claim via telephone
CT Career Centers
Unemployment Appeals Offices


File for unemployment in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, New England, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming