Extended Unemployment Benefits Are Ending

Posted by supervisor

If you get laid off any time after July 1st 2011, you should expect to ONLY receive the standard 26 weeks of unemployment benefits that your state provides. Ever since 2008 there has been up to 73 additional weeks given by the federal government but that will expire at the beginning of 2012. Therefore, anyone who is going to file for unemployment from this point on will not get any additional weeks.

The only way this could change is if Congress decides to extend them again but that is unlikely due to the great financial debt crises this country faces. Many politicians feel that there is no money left to fund any Federal unemployment programs from this point forward.

Unemployment insurance benefit extensions have been counted on by many people since 2008 but there is a lot of controversy about them. Democrats and Republicans differ in their desire to keep going and there is a lot of research that shows that people abuse them. Denmark is one country that is reducing the time they give unemployment aid based on research that shows that the a large number of people only start genuinely looking for a job when their benefits are nearing the end.

Whether people abuse unemployment insurance or not, the fact remains that extended benefits are going to be ending here in America starting in January 2012. This should give people who are laid off now more incentive to start putting all their energy into finding a new job rather than sitting around and doing nothing. From today going forward, you can’t count on these extended benefits anymore.

File for unemployment in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, New England, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming