How To File For Unemployment In Your State

Unemployment insurance is a federal/state compensation program that came into being in 1935 via the Social Security Act. This program has been called many names but they are all one and the same. You might hear it called unemployment compensation, unemployment benefits, workers compensation, unemployment insurance, or just plain “unemployment”.

The intended purpose of unemployment insurance

Unemployment insurance is a benefit offered to unemployed workers who have lost their job through no fault of their own. It’s purpose is to temporarily assist unemployed workers financially with the essentials of life so that they will have help covering their basic necessities like shelter and food while they are between jobs.

The unemployment benefits program is a Federal program that is carried out by each State. This means that each state may have a different process and rules for applying to, appealing, and receiving unemployment insurance benefits.

Just because you may know someone who qualified for unemployment in another state does not mean that you will qualify for the same benefit if you file for unemployment where you live. Each case must follow the regulations for the state in which in the claim was filed and every case is looked at individually.

Please click on your state from the list below to find out what you need to do to start collecting unemployment insurance benefits:

Alabama Unemployment
Alaska Unemployment
Arizona Unemployment
Arkansas Unemployment
California Unemployment
Colorado Unemployment
Connecticut Unemployment
Delaware Unemployment
Florida Unemployment
Georgia Unemployment
Hawaii Unemployment
Idaho Unemployment
Illinois Unemployment
Indiana Unemployment
Iowa Unemployment
Kansas Unemployment
Kentucky Unemployment
Louisiana Unemployment
Maine Unemployment
Maryland Unemployment
Massachusetts Unemployment
Michigan Unemployment
Minnesota Unemployment
Mississippi Unemployment
Missouri Unemployment
Montana Unemployment
Nebraska Unemployment
Nevada Unemployment
New Hampshire Unemployment
New Jersey Unemployment
New Mexico Unemployment
New York Unemployment
North Carolina Unemployment
North Dakota Unemployment
Ohio Unemployment
Oklahoma Unemployment
Oregon Unemployment
Pennsylvania Unemployment
Rhode Island Unemployment
South Carolina Unemployment
South Dakota Unemployment
Tennessee Unemployment
Texas Unemploymemt
Utah Unemployment
Vermont Unemployment
Virginia Unemployment
Washington Unemployment
West Virginia Unemployment
Wisconsin Unemployment
Wyoming Unemployment


The politicians in Washington are still dickering back and forth about whether to further extend unemployment benefits in 2014. More than 2 million Americans lost their benefits at the end of 2013 and have gone without government assistance for the first two months of this year. Every month that goes by it is estimated that about 70,000 more people lose their benefits as they run out.

Long term unemployment is a colossal problem in this country as the economy tightens and jobs are lost across the board. This makes it extremely hard for people who have been out of work for a long time to get hired as employers are more apt to hire workers who have short periods of time without a job. It is often thought that the long term unemployed are lazy, not really looking for a job, and would actually rather get unemployment payouts than find work. While this may be true in some instances, for those that are genuinely hoping to find a job the situation has become dire.

The Senate is expected to revisit the unemployment extension situation in early March and possibly have another vote. Democrats are furiously trying to convince several Republican members who come from states with high unemployment that voting to further extend benefits is the right thing to do. If new unemployment benefit extensions are passed this month or any month after, they likely will include retroactive benefits back to the January 2014.

File for unemployment in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, New England, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming